Eyles Di Paola Architects | National Parks
Eyles Di Paola Architects | Planning

National Parks

The National Parks of England and Wales are areas of relatively undeveloped and scenic landscape that are designated under the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act 1949.

There are currently thirteen National Parks in England and Wales. Each park is operated by its own National Park authority, with two “statutory purposes”:

  • To conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the area, and
  • To promote opportunities for the understanding and enjoyment of the park’s special qualities by the public.

Special planning legislation and guidance generally applies to developments in National Parks.

Got a project you would like to discuss with us?
We would love to hear from you, get in touch today.